Pre-Wedding Madness

Seriously. The two of them wind each other up. He said, she said.

Dad has disowned her, according to the 29 year old. He threw the antenna down on the floor, and hit her first.

She is a big bully, he says. She doesn’t respect her parents.

For fuck’s sake. The two of you need to grow up and move on. But no, you two are big drama queens. It makes high school me look like a sedate wall-flower.

 

Background Basics

29 got engaged a whole year before 27.

27 got engaged in May and says she wants to get married the weekend before 29 (August 19th) because

  • her fiance’s brother X is away on vacation in Chicago
  • her fiance’s sister K will be flying out to teach English in Korea or somewhere
  • It’s a good time because Uncle R and Aunt L are in town from Hong Kong, and I will be too

I asked 27 what the rush is, there’s no reply. Whatever.

Apparently 29 flew off handle when she heard what 27 wanted. To be fair, 29 didn’t need the distraction before her licensing exams. But I could tell she was furious in the email she sent.

I was not happy to be in the situation of having to choose sides. If I agreed to go to 27’s wedding, then I would be condoning it. But am I really meant to not go to her wedding, despite the fact that I don’t know her fiance after 10 years?  Mum said, “We can’t even dislike him because we don’t know him.”

I emailed them both and said I wasn’t happy with the situation I’d been placed in. But I told 27 I’d go to her wedding.

I was stressed out, Mum and Dad were stressed out. I presume 25 was too. I told Mum and Dad to lay down the law, as parents, and tell them they were to attend each others weddings, take a couple photos, then fuck off to wherever the hell they wanted. I expected they’d done it.

 

Friday, 29 returned in surprisingly good spirits and was talking to me again. Dad came later and it was all going well. Then Saturday night, it came to light that 29 hadn’t had 27’s wedding date confirmed. 29 didn’t really expect that Dad would be able to convince 27 to have hers after 29’s wedding, but blew up nonetheless over being uninformed. She’s furious still.

Then I came back from work on Monday and apparently 29 and Dad had come to physical blows over the TV.

Jeez they’re childish.

I just want to drive over to P’s and be quiet.

Leave a Reply

